Cher Admires Chas Bono’s Courage

 

Actress-singer Cher, the mother of Chaz Bono, has said she’s proud of her son sharing his transgender experience in the documentary Becoming Chaz.

Becoming Chaz, which focuses on Bono’s gender reassignment, premiered in January at the Sundance Film Festival, where it was acquired by Oprah Winfrey’s nascent cabler OWN.

The film’s May 10 premiere will launch the network’s OWN Documentary Film Club.

According to PEOPLE.com, the Burlesque star hosted a screening of the film in her Malibu home over the weekend.

“I admire my son Chaz’s courage for sharing his personal journey,” the website quotes Cher as saying to a friend. “Most important to me is that he is very happy. That’s what I care about the most. He has my love and support.”

The 42-year-old Bono, who was born Chastity Bono to gay idol Cher and the late entertainer-politician Sonny Bono, announced last June that he was eight months into gender reassignment.

Immediately following the documentary’s premiere, OWN will broadcast a one-hour special hosted by Rosie O’Donnell that focuses on the making of the film and other issues faced by transgender people and their families. In the special, O’Donnell will talk to Bono, his girlfriend Jennifer Elia, and the makers of the documentary.

4 responses

  1. […] Cher Admires Chas Bono’s Courage (therainbowpost.com) […]

  2. I think Chaz has great coredge,,,And his mom is a wonderful woman…She stood by her daughter even knoe it was hard to do…Your both strong people…I met with Cher a long time ago with my husband and daughters for the Make a wish foundation….It was my daughter Nikki/s eish to meet Cher….It was then that I knew how even more wonderful she is…Nikki is doing great…

  3. You completed a few good points there. I did a search on the subject and found mainly persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

  4. cher is the best,,like i said before we met her in newyork at her openingof her new album,and she is the nicest person you would ever want to meat.cher was so wonderful to my girls,it was my daughters make a wish..Love you Cher..the iovinos..x.o,

Leave a Reply

